Ginger Pear Hemp Granola


Poor pear, it had been sitting in the fruit bowl forgotten for far too long.  Only strawberries and oranges have been making it into Lennox’s belly lately.  He sees them {or anything red that resembles strawberries} and starts signing for “more”.  I’m now trying to teach him “strawberry” to make things easier for myself.  Liking ginger pear the combo from my smoothie yesterday I was thrilled when I saw a ginger pear granola recipe in Brendan Brazier’s Thrive Fitness book.  Highly recommend any of his books by the way!  His recipe is a Ginger Pear Salba Granola and claims to be a “unique granola that has inflammation-reducing properties and a tasty-zing of ginger”.  Seeing as it was still the AM {and I was still in my jammies} I opted to tweak the recipe and not jam out to the health food store with another $50 in groceries I don’t really need.  My creation went something like this:

Ginger Pear Hemp Granola

1 cup steel cut oats

1/2 cup hemp protein

1/2 cup chia seeds

1/2 sesame seeds

1 cup chopped almonds

1 pear peeled and diced

1/2 cup {or more} raisins

2 tbsp xylitol

pinch of pink Himalayan sea salt

1/4 cup hemp oil

1/4 cup agave nectar

2 tbsp apple juice

6 drops doTERRA ginger oil

Directions: Preheat oven to 250.  Mix dry ingredients.  Blend liquid ingredients.  Combine.  Mix well.  Spread on baking sheet.  Bake for 1 hour or till almonds appear toasty.  If you are patient unlike me, let cool, then break up into small cluster.

Personally I was quite pleased with the outcome.  I was scared it was going to be all hemp tasting.  When it wasn’t I was thankful I now had a recipe to use all that hemp oil on {not a fan of the flavor myself}.  Next time I will try adding goji berries and some sunflower seeds{mine seem to have sprouted legs and walked away on me}.  What would you add or change to this to make it your own?

Leave a Reply

